Home > College, General, Navy, Personal, Video games > Farewell to an Ambition

Farewell to an Ambition

“I was standing on a wall, feeling ten feet tall…”

As you can probably plainly see, I’ve made a few changes around here. The blog has a new look and feel to it, a new name and a new purpose.

After much deliberation and thought over the course of the last several months…I’ve decided to request a discharge from the Delayed Entry Program of the United States Navy. I was hinting at the possibility when I discussed the DEP meeting yesterday. I really didn’t want to go. I walked into my only class today, American National Government, and walked out with my mind made up: I want to finish college before I begin to build a career. I realized that if I joined the Navy the chances that I’ll be able to come back to college with the same amount of financial aid would be slim. Even the GI Bill might not be enough to offset the loss in financial aid and the boost in tuition costs that would occur after six years.

I’ll be sending the DEP discharge request to the recruiting station tomorrow. Before anyone retorts: yes, I understand that I should have been absolutely sure I wanted to be a Sailor before I signed on the dotted line. At the time, I thought I was. Then my habits and personality caught up with me, and I realized that not even the promise of a military career could help me shake them. I’m still a geek at heart, one that loves having lots of free time and has good prospects on the horizon. If I play my cards right, I should graduate with a below-average level of debt. I don’t really need the military and, with so many other people sorely wanting to get in that have no other great options, the military doesn’t really need me. It’s a fair exchange, I think.

I won’t say I’m not embarrassed or regretful that I’m not going to see this through. That would be a lie. I’m definitely not looking forward to meeting with the (probably rightfully angry) recruiters, but what can I say? I’m doing what I think is right for me and my fiancee. I’m not entirely sure I would have survived the top secret clearance check because my father fled the country five years ago. Having family members outside of the United States can put the brakes on a TS clearance approval.

The first person I told the news to (besides Jennifer, of course) was my friend Aaron. He wasn’t dismayed at all. He thought I was making the right choice. In his own words: “You are a smart, smart man.” It’s the best reaction I could have hoped for. I’m not entirely sure he’s right.

So, I now turn my attention to the next order of business: what do I do with this blog, now that the “Sailor” part has been removed? I guess we’ll find out as we go. I intend to move forward with my dominion over this little corner of the internet. I hope you’ll continue to follow me as I weave through life. I’ve got the biggest day of my life coming in less than two months. I can hardly believe it. If you’d have told me in March of 2008 that I’d be married two years later, I’d have thought you were nuts. That’s something to look forward to around here. I’m still reviewing games, as well! The Assassin’s Creed II: Discovery review is my project for this weekend, I promise!

On with the show. Oh, and if you have any better names for the new incarnation of the blog…by all means, please share them. I think we can do better than “Full-Time Gamer,” don’t you?

  1. January 22, 2010 at 6:16 AM

    Don’t be embarrassed or regretful about your decision. It is better to make it now, before you get too close to your ship day, so the Navy can give your school seat to someone else.

    Just to be clear about the Post 9/11 GI Bill – it pays 100% of tuition/fees, up to the highest tuition/fees charged at a public school in the state your attending. It pays $41.67 per credit hour (up to $1000/yr) for books, and it pays BAH at the level of E-5 w/dependents for full time students. Separately, you are also eligible for federal student aid.

    Good luck with the wedding!

    • January 22, 2010 at 12:57 PM

      Thanks for the kind words, Master Chief. I’m more concerned that federal student aid may see cuts in the near future that the GI Bill may not be afraid to offset, to say nothing of the runaway train that tuition to public universities in Arizona has become.

  2. January 22, 2010 at 1:10 PM

    -nods-

    Just remember that no matter what you decide, I’ll stand by you ’til the end. ❤

  3. January 22, 2010 at 4:38 PM

    The GI Bill train will keep up with the public university’s increases. For 30 years the fight to “right the ship” concerning the GI Bill has finally been won – it is way too high profile a benefit you any politician to screw with for a very, very long time. I am saying, just don’t let that be your reason for not going; although, I am sure that it’s not because it would be unfounded. Reminds me of when I used to recruit back in the mid-1980s – people would come into the office to join the Navy because they thought they would avoid being drafted into the Army – the draft had been over for more than 10 years… People make their best choices when they have all the (correct) facts.

    On another note, I have a son in the Navy. He, with his wife, is stationed in Japan; they are also learning Japanese.

  1. January 21, 2010 at 11:25 PM

Leave a Reply

