Home > Reviews, Video games > Shin Megami Tensei Review Coming Soon

Shin Megami Tensei Review Coming Soon

I’m still working hard on finishing SMT: Devil Survivor and will have a review for you either December 30 or when I beat the game, whichever comes first.

Allow me to explain: the game gets very hard very suddenly. It’s easily the hardest DS game I’ve played to date. I’m slogging through it, but from what I can tell I’m not even halfway done and the difficulty is only ramping up. For those that have played the game, I’m stuck on Beldr, the vampiric demon boss that summons legions of Cait Siths (no, not that one) to kick your team’s scrawny anime asses from north to south. It’s quite frustrating, and I’m stuck grinding out free battles to hopefully out-level the bastards and just overwhelm them with sheer force.

The game’s narrative is still very interesting, and I like playing, but it’s very difficult to stay motivated when day in, day out, the game kicks your ass in battle. I am also in the midst of playing Assassin’s Creed II, which is also a very interesting game without having to be unnecessarily painful. I think you can understand that playing a game that rewards you for doing even moderately well is more alluring than playing one that just kicks your ass for the sake of kicking your ass if you make even the slightest tactical mistake.

So, yeah, sorry I haven’t been posting as much lately. Finals are here. The semester ended Wednesday, and I’m studying hard (or hardly studying!) to make sure I do well. After that, I’ll have a nice long winter break to do all I can to rip through this game and whatever ones come after it.

Categories: Reviews, Video games Tags: ,
  1. December 14, 2009 at 5:41 PM

    And the fact the DS is living in my dorm room doesn’t help the situation any. ^_^

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

