Home > College, Music, Personal > Today I saw my first concert…

Today I saw my first concert…

To start with, a little background. As a wedding present and token of appreciation for our running of his ultimately unsuccessful student government campaign, my good friend Aaron hooked Jennifer and I up with some tickets to see a big concert being held on the UA campus.

The band was The Fray, a group that I must say I don’t care for much. Their brand of soft, safe, inoffensive ballads have never been my thing. My first thought about the concert was that I wasn’t going to enjoy myself much, and I’d just be standing around waiting for it to end. It didn’t help that the band showed up over twenty minutes later than advertised. Front man Isaac Slade apologized for the late arrival midway through the concert, citing that he lost track of time.

Thankfully, I was wrong. While I’m still not a fan of their music, I definitely enjoyed myself, and they put on a hell of a show. The (predominantly female) crowd erupted when it started, and the place got nuts when their hit single, “How to Save a Life”, started with its instantly recognizable piano solo. I don’t even like the song, and I couldn’t resist humming along and bobbing my head. It’s amazing how seeing a band in person definitely gives me a greater appreciation of their music. The energy in the building was greater than anything I’ve ever experienced.

I’ve downright mocked The Fray for being too soft and unassuming in their music and for catering to the least common denominator, but now they mean something different. They’re the first major concert I’ve ever seen, and it was Jennifer’s as well. For me, and I reckon for her, the connection is now somewhat personal. I’m still not a fan of The Fray, and I don’t imagine I ever will be, but now…whenever I hear “You Found Me” or “Over My Head”, either at Starbucks on campus, at a bar in Monterey, or on a Navy vessel during cleaning stations while underway…I’ll instantly remember the night of November 18th, when I got to see a fantastic performance put on by a band that I highly underestimated. It’s the kind of connection I’ll probably never be able to shake, and I’m not ashamed of that.

So thanks, Aaron. It was definitely a fun time, and Jen and I will probably be forever grateful to you for providing it to us.

Categories: College, Music, Personal Tags: , ,
  1. November 23, 2009 at 11:14 PM

    *gives thumbs up* :3

  1. November 23, 2009 at 11:58 PM

Leave a Reply

