Home > Uncategorized > Final Fantasy XIII due 2010/03/09

Final Fantasy XIII due 2010/03/09

In case you haven’t heard already, the date is set for my life and grades to be ruined forever. Once this game comes out, I’m probably not leaving my dorm for about a month. Plan your SailorGamer-related activities accordingly.

Seriously, this game has been on my list of most anticipated releases since it was announced for the Xbox 360 back at E3 2008. While the game looks and sounds fantastic, the battle system is also as impressive as any I’ve seen in an RPG. The FF series lives and dies on the combat, and (thankfully) random battles won’t be making a return. The characters look to be interesting and varied, the setting brings back the futuristic look and feel I adore, and the story sounds like it’s got a lot of potential.

As venerable as the FF series is, this game marks a particular milestone for me. High definition debuts aside, 2010 marks the tenth anniversary of the first time I ever played a Final Fantasy game. I was 10 years old when I first led Squall through Balamb Garden and into the fierce battle for peace and the fabric of time itself in Final Fantasy VIII. At a time when I was young and impressionable, FFVIII imprinted me with the firm and undying love for RPGs I carry to this day. Ten years later, I’m still playing just about every role-playing game I can get my hands on, even ones that aren’t video games.

I don’t know about the whole idea of bringing in pop star Leona Lewis into the mix. I’m not familiar with her music, but if they think it does justice to the game, I’m all for it. At the least, it will increase brand exposure and seems like an advantageous relationship for both sides.

By the way, Marvel Ultimate Alliance 2 came today, so if you’ll excuse me, I’ve gotta get back to business.

Categories: Uncategorized
  1. November 14, 2009 at 2:29 AM

    For a month?

    Guess we’re not getting married then. >_>

    • November 14, 2009 at 2:55 AM

      We’ll just have to make arrangements.

      Think we could persuade everybody to pack into NAPI for the wedding? šŸ˜›

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

